The List – TOP 10 Anime Theme Songs

By. HassMD
(ThatDudeintheSuede has met his match!)

If there is one thing people love it’s anime theme songs… They’re catchy, addictive and most of the time unable to be translated correctly, The rules are that the show MUST have aired on US Television. So all you anime fans asking for Lucky Star, go fuck yourself.

This is HassMD’s THE LIST – TOP 10 ANIME THEME SONGS!

#10 – VIEWTIFUL JOE

Yeah, I had to find someplace to put Viewtiful Joe, sure it’s based on the popular Capcom Video Game, but who cares. It was catchy, was sung in english, and let’s face it, the graphics kicked ass! Film Letterbox for the win! It’s also a fantastic J-rap, something uncommon in Foreign Music today.

#9 – GHOST IN THE SHELL: STAND ALONE COMPLEX

Either I put up “Neon Genesis Evangeleon” or “Ghost in the Shell”. I figure either way people will flame me for not putting any of these two up. But that’s something I will have to deal with. All emails will go to Link.
Anyway, GITS intro is one of the most “WTF?” Intros I have ever seen. I mean, did you see her face when she was shooting her gun? She looked like she had well over 40 teeth, and that was just her overbite! It’s also a theme song that also gets stuck in your head when you watched the Beijing Olympics (even though its NOT Chinese)

#8 – SERIAL EXPERIMENTS LAIN

This is one of the greatest underrated anime series ever shown on television, and let’s face it the theme song sounds like Bjork at her finest. The show aired on Tech TV back before “the merger” and was actually not bad of a series. The theme song is peaceful and calming… almost makes you want to chillax at the beach with a Sierra Mist.

#7 – TRIGUN

Badass… just plain badass. This was one of the first anime programs I ever watched and did not have a bad thing to say about it… Seriously Vash the Stampede has kickass hair, kickass sunglasses… I think he has the earing in the correct ear to make him ‘badass’ instead of ‘homo’. But who cares? I COULD PLAY THIS INTRO ON A GUITAR. And I am actually not kidding, it’s pretty damn easy. The only person more badass than Vash is Dante from DMC (and they share the same characteristics…)

#6MEGA MAN

Fuck Mega Man NT Warrior, and the card battling RPG system that game holds. The TRUE mega man intro was this one. It had all your favorites. Mega Man, Dr. Wily, Zero, Rush, Cut Man, and a catchy theme song. If you forget the lyrics to this theme song, you’re either really stupid, or had a serious mental contition. Either way, Mega Man’s Theme Song is just fantastic. There is no where else to put it other than number six on this list.

#5 – POKEMON

Oh yeah, if you were any child of the late 90s, you would recall the lyrics to pokemon in your sleep. Parents never understood what “pokemon” was about. Other than kids wanted them, and they wanted them ALL.

Although I personally loved “THE JOHTO LEAGUE JOURNEYS” intro alot better, and because it has the greatest lyric ‘Everybody’s gonna call their mom’ The lyrics in the first season of Pokemon actually do tell you the story of Ash.

I wanna be the very best
Like no one ever was
To catch them is my real test
To train them is my cause

Ash Katchem wants to be the best catcher ever, but what he really wants to do is train them.

I will travel across the land
Searching far and wide
Teach Pokemon to understand
The power that’s inside

Ash will trave everywhere in this magical planet, to teach pokemon what powers they have.

Pokemon!
Gotta catch ’em all–

It’s on the fucking Game Boy cartridge, and is the objective to winning the game.

It’s you and me
I know it’s my destiny
Pokemon!

He wants you to join along on his journey to train and capture these ‘Pokemon’ because he was destined to do it, instead of school or anything.

Ooooh, you’re my best friend
In a world we must defend

He likes ya!

Pokemon!

The Title of the show.

Gotta catch ’em all–
Our hearts so true
Our courage will pull us through
You teach me and I’ll teach you

He believes your courage will help him train these pokemon, and in turn he’ll teach you about pokemon as well… even though most of the time it ends up being ‘WHO”S THAT POKEMON” and ruins the mood. Almost like Dora the Explorer but with a rodent that shoots out lightening.

Pokemon!
Gotta catch ’em all!
Gotta catch ’em all!
POKEMON

Once again, repeating the main title and goal of ‘Pokemon” in case you forgot to hear it 10 seconds ago.

So you see parents, there WAS a point to Pokemon, you could stop asking your kids “what do you see in it?”

#4 DEATH NOTE

BAWWWWWWWWWWWWW! Seriously can this theme song get any better? They had a demon dancing with an apple, a gun firing and the same demon catching the bullet, people kicking in mid air, AND IT SAYS ‘FUCKER’ in the intro! I am surprised they got away with that on Adult Swim, way to go! I had no idea Heavy Metal can be spoken in Japanese until I saw Death Note. What a surprise, sure the original theme song was way too pussified to be on this list, but everyone knows the 2nd intro is better! I MEAN THE LYRICS SAY ‘WHACK A MOLE’ IN IT, HOW COULD THAT NOT BE EXCITING? THIS THEME SONG KICKS ASS!

#3 – TRANSFORMERS

Now we are piloting the chronoskimmer to 1984 when Transformers was on the air. I mean there is alot of “Mecha” anime series. Voltron, Gundam, and Pilot Candidate. But when it comes to the end-all greatest series. It has to be transformers. The intro was the main reason people watched! It told you the story of the Autobots. It talked about how Megatron was evil. And if it wasn’t for Shia LaBlufs acting in the fucking movie, I would have bought it on Blu-Ray. Transformers, MORE THAN MEETS THE EYE!

#2 – BLEACH

I don’t know where they went wrong with this show. Was it how Soul Society had so many secondary characters? Was it the fact ‘bankai’ was an overused word, much like Barack Obama and ‘Hope’? To me, it was when they changed the intro. This was the very first intro to Bleach, this was the one intro that actually MADE ME want to watch the series, then they decided to change it. In the battle between Bleach and Naruto, Bleach is the Lesser of Two Evils, so I put it up here on the #2 spot. The Song, The Animation, The Cinematography (you could replicate this on a camera). It was 100% Awesome. Sure I lost respect for the show when they changed intros. But I have to give it respect for such a FANTASTIC OPENING!

And now the moment you’ve been waiting for…

#1 – COWBOY BEBOP

Do you know how many Death Threats I will get if I did NOT put this as #1? Cowboy Bebop is really the first anime show you KNOW is on, because of the intro. You here the first 3 seconds and you know what the show is. What the show is about, and best of all THERE WAS NO LYRICS! (okay 3…2…1 Let’s Jam, but for the sake of this list, we’ll say No Lyrics)

It’s the best Anime Opening you can find, there is so many things to like about this. Hell when I was in High School, the Jazz Band was actually practicing playing this song (but the music teacher decined to play it in concert) If there is one anime series that everyone can agree had a catchy, addictive, fun, and awesome theme song, it would have to be Cowboy Bebop. Accept No Subsitutions…

Now it’s time for the best part…

NOTABLE MENTIONS aka “YOU SUCK JORDAN”

FULL METAL ALCHEMIST

Why did I NOT put this theme song up here? Even though this was one of the few Animes to keep it’s theme song from the opening. It lacked any ‘Visual’, it was mostly just Edward and Alphonse running around. Ending with that awful >.< face. It’s a great theme song, but the intro bores me with that song.

NARUTO

Probably going to be the number one request WHY NOT NARUTO? Simply because there is so many intros of Naruto. I really do lack the time and patience to sit on my ass, browse YouTube, and look for as many Naruto intros as I could find. I also blame AMVs for costing me valueable time in making this list. So screw you Narutards who happen to have been reading this.

SAMURAI CHAMPLOO

I enjoyed Samurai Champloo, but in terms of intros, it kinda doesn’t have that spectacular of an intro, it concludes with a spinning vinyl and it cuts. They never heard of “Fade Out”? Give me a break.

NEON GENESIS EVANGELEON

Okay, the honest answer to that was, I could not STAND the intro to Neon Genesis Evangeleon, out of all the anime series I watch, there is only a few anime shows I can’t watch simply because of the intro.

Next Time we have a “TOP 10 WORST ANIME INTROS” list…

23 Comments

  1. Hell yes! Tank deserves to be #1 ! An awesome intro for an even more awesome Anime!
    And Bleach would of been good if they kept the whole soul society shit at the minimum and just have Ichigo kicking ghost ass instead. Also, if they stopped making sooo many damn episodes!

  2. That Pokemon one still gets me pumped 10 years later!

  3. Monster…that intro still gives me chills…you missed this one

  4. Monster was never in America fool. However, lack of Gungrave even being mentioned makes me sad, especially from a fan of G4. :-/

  5. Side-Note: Also, no love for ‘Rock the Dragon’? Seriously now, that shit is classic, haha.

    I’ll be making the ‘otaku’ version of Hass’ updates, just to give a more ‘overall and not just America only’ sort of view on things.

  6. ah, didn’t notice the rule that they had to air on US TV….whatever….Monster still should have been on the list for its pure awesomeness!

  7. Gunslinger Girl

  8. shockkssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

  9. Honestly I’ve seen a lot of lists but this one seriously sucked I mean Transformers common thats preety sad I think you should go do some hearing test and then make another one but thats just my opinon.

    Although Megaman brought back some memories.
    So thnks 4 tht.

    BTW I’m more into the newer stuff

  10. WHAT THE HECK?!?!?
    S-Cry-ed ISN’T EVEN IN HONORABLE MENTIONS???

    YOU HAVE NO LIVES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. “RECKLESS FIRE” BURNS ALL THESE THEMES DOWN EASILY!

    If you are prone to seizures, do not watch S-Cry-ed’s opening.

  12. suggestions:
    of course all the gurren lagann op / eds
    lost treasures:
    zz gundam “anime ja nai”
    spt layzner op
    don’t forget the giant robo symphonic scores

  13. DUDE most of the vids were removed.
    i hate freakin copyright laws.

  14. […] Anime Theme Songs By HassMD Batman Villains (Who aren’t the Joker) by Nurse J, Beeslo, Awesome the Hedgehog Best Fighters by The Bastard Gamer Gaming Intros By Kaiserhawk Gay Game Characters By Link Part One Part Two People I will Miss From 2008 By Beeslo Part One Part Two Post-Apocalyptic Movies By Beeslo Posthumously Released Shmups for the Dreamcast By Krooze L-Roy #5 #4 #3 #2 #1 Retro Video Game Songs By Canuck Scary Dreamcast Games By Rayjay Ways in Which the PSP is Better then the DS By Krooze L-Roy […]

  15. Hey the original yugioh also had a good theme.

  16. Party Party! The ending theme to Shin Chan!

  17. Aww, u forgot to put several such as Yokan by Heidi for Kaichou wa maid sama ED or Hateshinaku Tooi Sora Ni by The Stand Up.

    Anyway, that’s just my opinion after all.

    =D

  18. The Fruit Basket’s Theme Song Is The best Ever I think U’ve overlooked A bit while preparing this list

  19. Rurouni Kenshin

  20. This is just my opinion, but I would replace the Trigun theme with the opening song from Hellsing in a heartbeat!

  21. Chobits rosario vampire season1 d.gray man season 1&2

  22. hey you should post the song from the show rumbling hearts! i hate the show but the song is pretty tight!

  23. Not the JAPANESE Pokémon theme? You fail anime forever!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

