News of the Now: Handsome Tom’s Side of the Story

Link the Dean of Medicine
by Link
(Is prepared for a forum server crash)
,
DISCLAIMER: First and foremost, I just want to say our forum servers are a little shaky due to all the traffic we’ve unexpectedly been getting over the past week. With that said, the following is an exact copy/paste of Tom’s post, so you don’t need to join the forums if you’re expecting to see more than what we’ve posted. Additionally, any flaming or trouble starting on the forums will be met with a swift ban, I will also supply the Admins of ScrewAttack with your information as well, so that they can execute a ban of your account there if they deem it fit to do so. Now then, on to business…

ScrewAttack-

Craig’s statement on the podcast was insulting to tell the truth. We started ScrewAttack together, and both brought things to the table. I came in with my gaming collection, and my knowledge about video games, and Craig brought his knowledge of the Radio industry. In the beginning, all he was interested in doing was a podcast, and wanted it to be about gaming because of what I was bringing to the table. A friend of mine created the ScrewAttack webpage that everyone is so familiar with, and is also designing what ScrewAttack is about to become. We both put a lot of time, effort and ideas into making the site what it is today. Like Craig stated in the podcast he did go behind my back and register the company. I had asked him on several occasions to go and get it registered together. He would always say “No, let’s wait” and went ahead an did it anyway, without telling me.

I did give Craig 2 options, either I would be a part of the company
like agreed in the beginning and again at the beginning of the GT contract, or
I would be paid on PERFORMANCE *(not just a raise).
Let me give you an example:
(none of the following is not common knowledge)
ScrewAttack gets paid by views on GT, on the internet it’s called CPM (meaning per thousand views). I wanted to be paid like the Angry Video Game Nerd. He is paid a percent of his performance on GT.
Let me show you the number of views that anyone can look up….

Tom: 16,848,531
Craig: 10,469,958
Nerd: 18,398,149

I am a 1 1/2 million views away from the Nerd, and Craig is 8 million away.
How exactly was I not pulling my own weight? Not only did I perform on GT, I also performed consistently on ScrewAttack for 2 years. I did not ask for any of the merchandise money, nor any advertisement money, just the money that I deserved, based on my performance. Think about it… if I was really getting paid to do nothing, why would I leave? He says that we were friends, but why did he feel the need to insult me on the podcast?
I didn’t go in depth about any of my reasons for leaving in my announcement post, which Craig was apparently threatened enough by to delete. Insulting me for 25 minutes on a podcast is not the way to keep a friendship….especially when he keeps letting everyone know it’s business not personal.

I will not respond to any statement that Craig says after this post
about my involvement with ScrewAttack. I will also not insult him
or talk bad about anyone involved. That would not only be unprofessional
but would lower my standards as a person.
What’s next? Well, we have a new site we’re very excited about, TheGameHeroes.com. The teaser will be up early next week! Please email me and give me any feedback or if you want to contribute that would be awesome! Until the site is launched my email address will be: screwattacktom@gmail.com

Thanks for all your support
Handsome Tom


40 Comments

  1. Wow, that’s really messed up. Now that I know the two sides of the story, I still want to root for both sides of this story.

  2. Well, good luck with your future endevours. I’ll keep a look out for that new site when it opens up.

  3. Sorry Tom, but your argument is very flawed. [Getting more views than another person watching videos] does not equal [Working hard to improve the productivity and profitability of the site]. To back this up: Craig was never saying you were not a popular member of the team that raked in page views – he said you didn’t do enough to help ScrewAttack grow. Celebrity != Productivity.

    This isn’t the big TV screen were mega-celebs get paid millions to do nothing. It’s a growing small company under difficult circumstances. Everything you said about page views does not apply to what Craig said, in this context it’s pointless.

    In many, many factors go into why people have more page views than others – I can make an example, you covered more of the mainstream common games than Craig (look for yourselves for proof). That might have made a difference. You think someone watched a video (remember, they don’t know who reviwed each game at the start), and then turned off because it was your or Craig’s voice? Not a chance. I say again – you might be the god of popularity, but if you didn’t do enough to help the business screwattack, thats justifiable beef.

    Whilst I obviously expect some sort of mod to remove this, this is not a flame, its not a biased opinion, and its not a rant. It’s an honest accurate analysis of Tom’s words. It’ll be you that is biased by removing it. Ta.

  4. One more thing (sorry for double post) – I’m not saying Craig is right or Tom is wrong. It seems perfectly reasonable to be paid by performance, and if I was the friend of the other I’d spend a lot more effort working it out. But as far as your points go, I say again, they are flawed badly.

  5. Mixing business and friendship is a nearly impossible task, and this is simply a result of that difficult balancing act. Since this is essentially a “He Said, He Said” story, there’s really no right or wrong side here. Both viewpoints are valid, and it’s probably best that you guys end your business relationship. Hopefully a friendship is salvageable in the future.

  6. hey tom good luck really i am going to really miss seeing you at screwattack i think you should know and probably already know your always welcome back their. i hope it doesnt turn into neptunecircle when rocky left

  7. You beat me to it ya bastard :P

    Anyways, I copy pasta’d your post on my destructoid blog.

  8. I couldn’t agree any LESS with Anon.

    Here’s the thing: over analyzing is never a good thing. And Anon did just that with the wrong things: he analyzed what Craig said (his “screwattack = growing business” yells that out loud) and he just refused to see facts here.

    What matters here is not what you THINK why Craig refused to pay Tom per performance (fact you forgot, BTW: they’re already doing this with AVGN), nor why you THINK Tom vids were more watched than Craig’s. What matters here is that Craig did something behinds Tom’s back and that’s called a “betrayal” from were I come from. Hell, he could have the best reasons to do so, but it is still a betrayal.

    Second, you forgot (in trying to “defuse” Tom’s statement) another VERY simple thing: Craig’s videos were WATCHED. A LOT. When a company is already maintaining a performer (AVGN) via CPM, why can’t they do it with a guy who, literally, made 50% of the foundations to SA? Does it make sense? And before you start: if GIVING all that money to SA without arguing (if you put some attention in Tom’s post, you’ll see he never asked for that money before… nor advertising, nor anything) isn’t pulling “one’s own weight”? He made MONEY for SCREWATTACK! Isn’t that what the whole “business” side of things is?

    Nope. There’s no single sense in anything you “ranted” (yes, it was an underanalized rant) above. Simple as that. Stop ignoring the facts.

    El Cernex

  9. You took the words right out of my mouth, Cernex. Also, if you are going to express such heated opinions, don’t do it from behind the anonymousness of the internet but put yourself front and center.

    Honestly, I feel this whole thing is messed up and like everyone else, I agree that there were wrongs on both sides. However, I can’t get behind the fact that Craig basically did betray Tom and the fact that Craig doesn’t really deny this shows that this is the one solid truth in both sides of the conflict. And I think this is the one imdemnfying piece of evidence that leads to me to side with Tom. He was betrayed as both a partner and a friend…and honestly, there’s nothing worse you could do to a person.

  10. However, I feel I should add that even with this one truth, it doesn’t mean I’m dropping SA or even despising Craig. I’m just a little disappointed in him, thats all. Good luck to him and good luck to Tom and Liz and their future endeavors, I look forward to their new site.

  11. I totally feel you on that one Beeslo… you too Cernex… Real talk though… Going behind a friend’s back is terrible… that’s the real big disappointment… I do look forward to the future and hope things can be resolved…

  12. Cernex, you just wrote a very general twisting statement that didn’t really get anywhere. Plus you contridicted yourself in several points. I didn’t over-analyse either, apart from perhaps giving the TV analogy.

    “What matters here is not what you THINK why Craig refused to pay Tom per performance (fact you forgot, BTW: they’re already doing this with AVGN)”
    – I didn’t think anything about this, I said that is a completely unrelated manner. Note here however that you are commenting on “performance” (important)

    “, nor why you THINK Tom vids were more watched than Craig’s.”
    Read again – I said the ‘why’ wasn’t important – fact is, there’s a lot of factors that go into why movie a is watching instead of movie b.

    “What matters here is that Craig did something behinds Tom’s back and that’s called a “betrayal” from were I come from. Hell, he could have the best reasons to do so, but it is still a betrayal.”
    First of all, there is no fact that says Craig did or didn’t do that. That’s a he-said she-said, and we as outsiders don’t know. Who is making fact out of hearsay? You, unfortunately.

    “Second, you forgot (in trying to “defuse” Tom’s statement) another VERY simple thing: Craig’s videos were WATCHED. A LOT. When a company is already maintaining a performer (AVGN) via CPM, why can’t they do it with a guy who, literally, made 50% of the foundations to SA? Does it make sense?”
    Here’s where you’re contradicting yourself. Half the time you’re saying Tom is a performer and comparing him to AVGN, at the same time you’re saying he shouldn’t be classed as a performer, as he did “50%” of the foundations, which again is not fact, we don’t know how much effort both people put in. ALSO, I clearly said there is no reason WHY Tom shouldn’t be treated as a performer, so why are you suggesting I said it was wrong?

    And before you start: if GIVING all that money to SA without arguing (if you put some attention in Tom’s post, you’ll see he never asked for that money before… nor advertising, nor anything) isn’t pulling “one’s own weight”? He made MONEY for SCREWATTACK! Isn’t that what the whole “business” side of things is?
    For a performer yes, but Tom was part of the company in running the business and making the content. You can’t be a performer and expect a 50% stake by being in some videos. You have to do other things – content creation, HR, financial stuff, managing, marketting. I wont go on, the example is easy.

    Nope. There’s no single sense in anything you “ranted” (yes, it was an underanalized rant) above. Simple as that. Stop ignoring the facts.
    Unfortunately there is. I couldn’t care less to be frank, but I can’t stand people making half-brained statements that have little relevance and even less fact-of-matter thinking they are amazing on the interwebs.

    Let me simplify my post for you.

    Page views, video views, I love Mr A more than Mr B, does NOT mean I work hard, I advance and develop the company, I should be a founding partner. End of.

    El Cernex

  13. @Cernex and Anon

    Tl;Dr

  14. Are there any lawyers out there (I doubt it) who could clarify if Tom has any legal options in this case? If it’s clearly established that both created the company, but Craig went and registered the company on his own, wouldn’t Tom be entitled at least to some financial compensation, i.e., a buy-out for his part?

  15. @Anon, but remember. Tom said he gave Craig a choice. 50% or pay him like he pays AVGN as a performer. One or the other. Craig chose neither. Which makes no sense unless Craig entirely misunderstood what Tom’s second option was and thought he was just asking for a raise.

  16. I know Link, which is why I said (and I quote)

    “One more thing (sorry for double post) – I’m not saying Craig is right or Tom is wrong. It seems perfectly reasonable to be paid by performance,”

    On this point, I definately agree.

  17. Sorry, must’ve overlooked it in all the text. ^_^;;

  18. […] [tomsside] [craigsside] […]

  19. Man this is like watching two close friends on a CCTV monitor argue: You wanna help solve it but you can’t.

    Hearing the podcast and reading Tom’s post does make me wonder one thing though, and that’s if either of the two were really talking about the same thing. It’s almost depicted as Craig being the “boss” per say and Tom being the #1 worker that helped his company get to where it’s at today.

    Now imagine if you would that the top worker walked up to his boss and said, “Hey, I think I earned the right to half the company.” Sounds ridiculous, doesn’t it? Yes it’s true that the worker has definitely earned recognition for his hard work but does he really have the right to earn half the company?

    Has that worker really set aside his own work and pile on all the other responsibilities that running a company has? I’m not saying Tom can’t, but has he tried?

    I guess in the end we really don’t know anything. We’re all just spectators in an event that has slightly affected our internet experience. ::Shrugs:: There’s only two things I can really hope for in all this:

    1.) Craig and Tom talk things out, remain friends.
    2.) Everyone stops choosing sides and understands that we started as spectators; Let’s keep it that way. People are sitting in their computer chairs talking about “Eff Tom” or “Eff Craig” and it’s ridiculous. The two of them aren’t attempting to build an army, so why are so many people enlisting themselves to either side?

    Welcome to life folks. Live, Learn, Put yourself at peace with certain situations, and carry on.

  20. To Anon with love, XD:

    – I didn’t think anything about this, I said that is a completely unrelated manner. Note here however that you are commenting on “performance” (important)

    Quote:
    This isn’t the big TV screen were mega-celebs get paid millions to do nothing. It’s a growing small company under difficult circumstances. Everything you said about page views does not apply to what Craig said, in this context it’s pointless

    “Unrelated”, huh? You just said Tom couldn’t pay Tom per view (unless by “page views” you meant something completely the opposite from what a “page view” is) because SA is a “growing small company”.

    And that’s bull: they’re already paying AVGN CPM. PERIOD.

    – I said the ‘why’ wasn’t important – fact is, there’s a lot of factors that go into why movie a is watching instead of movie b.

    And I said it didn’t mattered at all: it’s still money for screwattack made with Tom’s GT account. Stop repeating yourself.

    Factors aren’t important: FACTS are.

    -First of all, there is no fact that says Craig did or didn’t do that. That’s a he-said she-said, and we as outsiders don’t know. Who is making fact out of hearsay? You, unfortunately:

    Let’s check the clues “one-by-one” then:

    1) Craig said so himself in the podcast (“One day, I just went ahead and registered it myself”). He never mentioned any talk with Tom

    2) Tom said so himself

    3) The “third guy” above just said so himself.

    So, yeah, perhaps it is not a “clear” fact, but damn if all the parts involved in that thing like repeating themselves.

    -Here’s where you’re contradicting yourself. Half the time you’re saying Tom is a performer and comparing him to AVGN, at the same time you’re saying he shouldn’t be classed as a performer, as he did “50%” of the foundations, which again is not fact, we don’t know how much effort both people put in. ALSO, I clearly said there is no reason WHY Tom shouldn’t be treated as a performer, so why are you suggesting I said it was wrong?

    1) Show me were I said he shouldn’t be considered as a performer. Better yet, tell me were I said he couldn’t be BOTH.

    2) Tom said it better, so I’ll just quote:

    “We started ScrewAttack together, and both brought things to the table. I came in with my gaming collection, and my knowledge about video games, and Craig brought his knowledge of the Radio industry.”

    That looks to me like, without Tom, there wouldn’t be a SA to begin with, unless Craig found another geek with attitude, which we know it’s not as simple as it looks. So yeah, Fact.

    3) So you’re saying he should perform and don’t get paid a dime? Because being a “performer” means you get paid by what you do. Tom wasn’t (before you start, only according to Tom, but it’s TOM talking about TOM. Don’t tell me that doesn’t classify as a fact)

    -For a performer yes, but Tom was part of the company in running the business and making the content. You can’t be a performer and expect a 50% stake by being in some videos. You have to do other things – content creation, HR, financial stuff, managing, marketting. I wont go on, the example is easy.

    You don’t see the bigger picture here, do you? Tom isn’t only “just another performer”, he’s the 2nd MOST WATCHED performer in all SA (even well above Craig). Not only that, but he was also deeply involved in the podcast, the “Iron Man of Gaming” (big buckos for SA), and Perfect Liz’s clips, which always drew fans to SA.

    AND he STARTED the WHOLE DAMN CONCEPT with Craig. He created plenty of “content”. And only because he’s not a business man like “Craig” is he automatically get less money and power than Craig? That’s even more PR bull.

    -Unfortunately there is. I couldn’t care less to be frank, but I can’t stand people making half-brained statements that have little relevance and even less fact-of-matter thinking they are amazing on the interwebs.

    Just don’t look at yourself at the mirror and everything will be fine, ;)

    – Let me simplify my post for you.

    Page views, video views, I love Mr A more than Mr B, does NOT mean I work hard, I advance and develop the company, I should be a founding partner. End of.

    And if Tom only did that, I would agree. But he didn’t. Ergo, pointless “simplification”.

    El Cernex

    (NOTE: This place is not the right one to argue, so either go to the forums, or post a thing and get universally ignored due to this thing being passes to the blog’s archieves. Your call)

  21. I emailed Tom before the podcast and he basically said the same thing, and after I heard Craig on the podcast I could tell he was gonna get pissed about that…

  22. “Page views, video views, I love Mr A more than Mr B, does NOT mean I work hard, I advance and develop the company, I should be a founding partner. End of.”

    “And if Tom only did that, I would agree. But he didn’t. Ergo, pointless “simplification”.”

    According to Craig and above, Tom didn’t do as much as Craig. Ergo, he did.

  23. After hearing both sides of the story, I really don’t know where I stand. Hope everything works out well for everyone.

  24. craig went behind tom’s back to register the property that they created togehter

    that says it all

  25. Cool. He said, he responded. Over and done. All parties have said their piece and it’s time to move on. Not the first friendship to be broken up over money/business and it won’t be the last. Hopefully we can all enjoy their creative endeavors, even though they won’t be doing them together. I know that regardless of the fallout, regardless of all the bitterness and anger this brought out in everyone, I am ecstatic that I get to continue lo enjoy both personalities.

  26. Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?

    I seen you ’round for a long long time
    I really ‘membered you when you drink my wine

    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?

    I seen you walkin’ down in Chinatown
    I called you but you could not look around

    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?

    I bring my money to the welfare line
    I see you standing in it every time

    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?

    The color of your skin don’t matter to me
    As long as we can live in harmony

    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?

    I’d kinda like to be the President
    so I can show you how your money’s spent

    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?

    Sometimes I don’t speak too bright
    but yet I know what I’m talking about

    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?

    I know you’re working for the CIA
    they wouldn’t have you in the Mafia

    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?

    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?

    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?

    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?

    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?
    Why can’t we be friends?

  27. First of all Anon, is there some reason you don’t have the balls to post who you really are?

    Bottom line, Craig went behind Tom’s back to register the company. That alone taints to me everything he said, and comparing it to Tom’s, it’s clear that he’s at the very least more in the wrong than Tom. Even others have come forward to back up Tom’s side. The list of those who have had bad dealings with Craig continues to grow.

  28. God damn it Anon… what are you afraid of? Why don’t you have the balls to post who you really are? Why can’t you man up like ResidentialEvil and beeslo? You don’t see either of them posting their opinions to some message board while hiding behind an alias…

  29. ITs the internet. Anon has total right to keep themselves concealed. live with it.

    anyway Both sides are moving on. Tom with Thegameheroes..which im very excited about and Craig is still kicking with SA. Look at it this way. We get to see both creative minds fully at work on their own projects. Im sure enough Tom will be ultra successful. His following at SA is gigantic that their users will surely take a glance at Game Heroes. Whats done is done. let it be. Tom seems like he moved on so why dont all of you.

  30. Meh, i am in the Tom side. I mean – the whole videogame videos and stuff came from his knowledge and collection of it! Screwattack without H. Tom and P. Liz is so boring =(

  31. tom good luck with the new site i am ready to contribute

    Marlon Magaby

  32. tom good luck on the new site to bad to hear bout you and craig best of luck dude

  33. This is why I said to Mickey in reply on GT is that I feel that even though at the time the two had different visions for screwattack and they left on creative differences. Nothing more, nothing less.

  34. you two had great VGV and Top ten Lists. Ever since Tom left…screwattack has not been the same. It’s a shame you guys couldn’t just keep on doing what you were doing and be happy. But since that will never happen…I just hope that screwattack uses more of destin. Have him do some VGV’s since he is the only other worthy person left on the site other then craig. I hope Tom’s site rocks though and does some kind of deal like the VGVs

  35. NO MAN NO!! TOM AND CRAIG WERE LIKE THE ICE CLIMBERS, YOU HAVE TO STICK TOGETHER. That sucks. Good wishes to both of you.

  36. oh come on who cares get over it
    dont be a pussy

  37. I think Tom is awesome! I think hes hilarious. Craig is funny sometimes but he isn’t nearly as entertaining as Tom is. I would love to see more Handsome Tom He rockS! and more Perfect Liz she is the bomb!

  38. I think Craig was way more entertaining than Tom ever was though to be honest.
    Don’t ask me why it’s just his personality

  39. I know more about this than I did before. From what I gather Tom wasn’t getting paid what he felt he deserved. I don’t know what Craig and Tom did on- and off-screen but it’s sad to see it not reconciled. I can’t argue that Craig works extremely hard, but I just don’t know much about backstage deals. I wish thegameheroes was better though. I think it pales in comparison in quality, quantity and entertainment to ScrewAttack.

    I dunno. Kinda sad. It’s a shame that this business broke up a friendship, but I guess everything of consequence has it’s scars.

  40. Sad this all happened, I really wish even today these two could reconcile their differences. I feel like both were probably in the wrong here but we’ll never know. I will say however judging by the quality, quantity and consistency of the two websites that its clear Stuttering Craig put QUITE a bit of effort into the site. Gameheroes seems kinda…sporadic and not quite of the same level. With Screwattack you usually know how often you’re going to get a particular show and they’re still pumping out good new ones. But whatever whats done is done


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

